Skip to main content

NIH Working Group

The NIH Scientific Data Council provides broad trans-NIH programmatic leadership on data science at NIH. This includes high-level oversight of BD2K and other NIH data science activities. A roster of the Scientific Data Council is provided below.

Day-to-day administration of BD2K is carried out by NIH staff from the Office of Strategic Coordination and multiple Institutes and Centers.


  • Jon Lorsch, Ph.D.
    Director, National Institute of General Medical Sciences


  • Susan Amara
    Scientific Director, Intramural Research Program, National Institute of Mental Health
  • James Anderson, M.D., Ph.D.
    Deputy Director for Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives
  • Noni Byrnes
    Acting Director, Center for Scientific Review
  • Patti Brennan, R.N., Ph.D.
    Director, National Library of Medicine
  • Eric Dishman
    Director, All of Us Research Program
  • Michael Gottesman, M.D.
    Deputy Director for Intramural Research
  • Eric Green, M.D., Ph.D.
    Director, National Human Genome Research Institute
  • Jill Heemskerk, Ph.D.
    Acting Director, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering&
  • Anthony Kerlavage, Ph.D
    Program Director, National Cancer Institute
  • Michael Lauer, M.D.
    Deputy Director for Extramural Research
  • John J. McGowan, Ph.D.
    Deputy Director for Science Management, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Andrea Norris
    Director, Center for Information Technology
    NIH Chief Information Officer
  • Jim Ostell, Ph.D.
    Director, National Center for Biotechnology Information, NLM
  • Belinda Seto, Ph.D.
    Senior Advisor, Immediate Office of the Director

Ex-Officio Member

  • Larry Tabak, D.D.S, Ph.D.
    Interim Associate Director for Data Science (iADDS)
    Principal Deputy Director, NIH
  • Valerie Florance, Ph.D.
    Director, Director of Extramural Programs, National Library of Medicine
  • Susan Gregurick, Ph.D.
    Director, Division of Biomedical Technology, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology, National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Executive Secretaries

  • Cindy Caughman, M.P.H.
    National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
  • Peggy Schnoor
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences

This page last reviewed on March 22, 2024