Skip to main content
High-Risk, High-Reward Research Programs logos.

Symposium Agenda

Click on the links below to download:

Join our Listserv or contact us at

June 8-9, 2023 Symposium Agenda

Thursday, June 8, 2023
9:00 AM - 9:15 AM Trish Labosky, NIH
Welcome & Opening Remarks

Session 1

9:15 AM - 9:35 AM Yongxin Zhao, Carnegie Mellon University
New Innovator Award
Magnify: Next Generation Expansion Microscopy with a Universal Molecule Anchoring Strategy, the Applications and Beyond
9:35 AM - 9:55 AM Hsiao-Tuan Chao, Baylor College of Medicine
Early Independence Award
Cerebellar Dysfunction in Autism Spectrum and Neurodevelopmental Disorders: From Discovery Genetics to Translational Neuroscience
9:55 AM - 10:15 AM Nikhil Malvankar, Yale University
New Innovator Award
Wiring Cells: Control of Microbial Electron Export Using Natural and Synthetic Protein Nanowires
10:15 AM - 10:35 AM Break

Session 2

10:35 AM - 10:55 AM Jennifer Elisseeff, Johns Hopkins University
Pioneer Award
Biomaterials-Directed Regenerative Immunology
10:55 AM - 11:15 AM Andrew Leifer, Princeton University
New Innovator Award
Neural Signal Propagation Atlas of C. elegans
11:15 AM - 11:35 AM Siyuan Wang, Yale University School of Medicine
New Innovator Award
High-Content Image-Based CRISPR Screening Reveals Regulators of 3D Genome Architectures
11:35 AM - 12:00 PM Awardee Photo Shoot
12:00 PM - 1:10 PM Lunch (on your own)
1:10 PM - 3:00 PM Poster Session & NIH Office Hours

Session 3

3:00 PM - 3:20 PM Brian Chait, The Rockefeller University
Transformative Research Award
Nature-Inspired Device for Next Generation Mass Spectrometry
3:20 PM - 3:40 PM Megan Dennis, University of California, Davis
New Innovator Award
Gene Expansions Contributing to Human Brain Evolution
3:40 PM - 4:00 PM Break

Session 4

4:00 PM - 4:20 PM Daniel Gallego-Perez, The Ohio State University
New Innovator Award
Cell and Tissue Nanotransfection-Driven Therapies for Neurodegenerative Conditions and Metabolic Disorders
4:20 PM - 4:40 PM Gilad Evrony, NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Early Independence Award
Single-Molecule DNA Sequencing of Single-Strand Mismatch and Damage Patterns
4:40 PM - 5:00 PM Kendra Frederick, UT Southwestern
New Innovator Award
Structural Determination of Neurodegenerative Disease-Associated Proteins Inside Cells
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Happy Hour
Friday, June 9, 2023

8:30 AM - 8:45 AM

Robert Eisinger, NIH
Opening Remarks

Session 5

8:45 AM - 9:05 AM Christoph Thaiss, University of Pennsylvania
New Innovator Award
Body-Brain Communication: A New Frontier in Biomedicine
9:05 AM - 9:25 AM Arjun Raj, University of Pennsylvania
Transformative Research Award
How Do Cells Learn New Types?
9:25 AM - 9:45 AM Tara Deans, University of Utah
New Innovator Award
Utilizing Synthetic Biology to Advance Therapeutics
9:45 AM - 10:05 AM Courtney Yuen, Brigham and Women's Hospital
New Innovator Award
Improving the Equity of Community-Based Screening Programs Through Innovative Analytic Approaches
10:05 AM - 10:25 AM Break

Session 6

10:25 AM - 10:45 AM Jerry Chen, Boston University
New Innovator Award
CRACKing Cortical Circuits Underlying Learning and Behavior
10:45 AM - 11:05 AM Anne-ruxandra Carvunis, University of Pittsburgh
New Innovator Award
From Non-Coding to Coding: Uncovering the Hidden Coding Potential of Non-Coding Sequences and Its Role in De Novo Gene Evolution
11:05 AM - 11:25 AM Jeffrey Macklis, Harvard University
Pioneer Award
Building, Maintaining, or Regenerating Diverse Brain Circuitry is Complex: Subtype-Specific and Dynamic Subcellular Molecular Machinery in Cerebral Cortex
11:25 AM - 11:45 AM Raymond Moellering, The University of Chicago
New Innovator Award
Direct Targeting of Oncogenic Transcription Factors with Synthetic Transcriptional Repressors
11:45 AM - 12:05 PM Medha Pathak, University of California, Irvine
New Innovator Award
A Novel Tool to Study Endogenous Human Piezo1 from Single Cells to Tissue Organoids
12:05 PM - 1:10 PM Lunch (on your own)
1:10 PM - 3:00 PM Poster Session & NIH Office Hours

Session 7

3:00 PM - 3:20 PM Shixin Liu, The Rockefeller University
New Innovator Award
Machines on Genes: A Single-Molecule Perspective
3:20 PM - 3:40 PM Kamena Kostova, Carnegie Mellon University
Early Independence Award
Ribosomal Quality Control
3:40 PM - 4:00 PM Break

Session 8

4:00 PM - 4:20 PM Jonathan Brestoff, Washington University School of Medicine
Early Independence Award
Mitochondria Transfer Rescues Aerobic Respiration in Metabolically Compromised Macrophages
4:20 PM - 4:40 PM Sabrina Spencer, University of Colorado-Boulder
New Innovator Award
Control of the Proliferation-Quiescence Decision at the Single-Cell Level
4:40 PM - 5:00 PM Sidi Chen, Yale University
New Innovator Award
Genome Engineering for, of, and as Immunotherapy
5:00 PM - 5:10 PM Trish Labosky, NIH
Closing Remarks

This page last reviewed on January 24, 2024