We Accelerate Discovery

You are here

Printer

Trans-NIH Microbiome Working Group

The Trans-NIH MIcrobiome Working Group (TMWG) was established in 2012 to provide a forum for coordinating NIH extramural research activities related to the human microbiome. TMWG membership is open to all extramural program staff from ICs with an interest in the human microbiome. The TMWG meets monthly. It also serves as a community resource and for this purpose, this website will be routinely updated with a list of primary points of contact for extramural staff at each IC and a current list of funding opportunity announcements for prospective grantees interested in human microbiome-related research at NIH. Please contact the program staff listed on this website for further information.

Title FOA link Application Due Date Expiration Date Involved ICs Primary Contact
Role of the Microflora in the Etiology of Gastro-Intestinal Cancer (R01) PAR-12-140 3/4/2014 3/5/2014 NCI; NIAAA Daschner, Phil (NIH/NCI); Riscuta, Gabriela(NIH/NCI); Murray, Gary (NIH/NIAAA)
Biomarkers of Infection-Associated Cancers (R01) PA-11-158 Standard Due Dates 5/8/2014 NCI; NIDCR Krueger, Karl (NIH/NCI); Howcroft, Kevin (NIH/NCI); Venkatachalam, Sundar (NIH/NIDCR)
Biomarkers of Infection-Associated Cancers (R21) PA-11-159 Standard Due Dates 5/8/2014 NCI; NIDCR Krueger, Karl (NIH/NCI); Howcroft, Kevin (NIH/NCI); Venkatachalam, Sundar (NIH/NIDCR)
Novel, Alternative Model Systems foe Enteric Diseases (U19) RFA-AI-14-011 5/29/2014 5/30/2014 NIAID Mills, Melody (NIH/NIAID)
The Role of Microbial Metabolites in Cancer Prevention and Etiology (U01) PAR-13-159 11/14/2014 11/15/2014 NCI Riscuta, Gabriela (NIH/NCI)
Unconventional Roles of Ethanol Metabolizing Enzymes, Metabolites, and Cofactors in Health and Disease  PA-12-235 Standard Due Dates 1/8/2015 NIAAA Orosz, Andras (NIH/NIAAA) 
Unconventional Roles of Ethanol Metabolizing Enzymes, Metabolites, and Cofactors in Health and Disease PA-12-234 Standard Due Dates 1/8/2015 NIAAA Orosz, Andras (NIH/NIAAA)
Center for Excellence for Research on CAM (P01) PAR-13-220 09/25/2013 and 09/25/2014 1/8/2015 NCCAM Khalsa, Partap (NIH/NCCAM) 
Multidisciplinary Studies of HIV/AIDS and Aging (R21) PAR-12-174 04/09/2014; 08/07/2014; 12/09/2014; 04/07/2015 4/8/2015 NCI; NHLBI; NIA; NIAAA; NIAID; NIAMS; NICHD; NIDA; NIMH; NINDS Please see the FOA for the specific contact person from your IC of interest
Multidisciplinary Studies of HIV/AIDS and Aging (R01) PAR-12-175 04/09/2014; 08/07/2014; 12/09/2014; 04/07/2015 4/8/2015 NCCAM; NCI; NHLBI; NIA; NIAAA; NIAID; NIAMS; NICHD; NIDA; NIDDK; NIMH; NINDS; NINR Please see the FOA for the specific contact person from your IC of interest
Multidisciplinary Studies of HIV/AIDS and Aging (R03) PAR-12-176 04/09/2014; 08/07/2014; 12/09/2014; 04/07/2015 4/8/2015 NCI; NIA; NIAAA; NIAID; NICHD; NIDA; NIMH Please see the FOA for the specific contact person from your IC of interest
Exploratory/Developmental Clinical Research Grants in Obesity (R21) PA-12-179 Standard Due Dates 5/8/2015 NIDDK; NCI; NCCAM; NHLBI; ODS; NICHD Please see the FOA for the specific contact person from your IC of interest
Detection of Pathogen-Induced Cancer (R01) PAR-13-190 07/10/2014; 12/11/2014; 07/10/2015; 12/11/2015 12/15/2015 NCI Rinaudo, JoAnn (NIH/NCI)
Gut Microbiota-Derived Factors in the Integrated Physiology and Pathophysiology of Diseases within NIDDK's Mission (R01) PAR-13-293 Standard Due Dates 1/8/2017 NIDDK Grey, Michael (NIH/NIDDK)

 

Key Points of Contact

This table lists extramural program staff who have agreed to serve as the primary point of contact for their Institute for microbiome research related inquiries. They will address general questions and, if needed, will direct your inquiries to the appropriate program director in their Institute

ICO Program Staff Email
NCCAM Linda Duffy duffyl@mail.nih.gov
NCI Phil Daschner daschnep@mail.nih.gov 
NHGRI Lita Proctor lita.proctor@nih.gov
NHLBI Sandra Colombini-Hatch hatchs@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI Lis Caler lis.caler@nih.gov
NIA Max Guo qmguo@mail.nih.gov
NIAAA P.J. Brooks pjbrooks@dicbr.niaaa.nih.gov
NIAID Maria Giovanni mgiovanni@niaid.nih.gov
NIAMS Carl Baker bakerc@mail.nih.gov
NIDCR Dwayne Lunsford lunsfordr@nidcr.nih.gov
NICHD Gilman Graves graveg@mail.nih.gov
NIDDK Bob Karp karpr@extra.niddk.nioh.gov
NIEHS Lisa Chadwick chadwickl@niehs.nih.gov
NIGMS Mike Reddy michael.reddy@nih.gov
NIMH Nancy Desmond ndesmond@mail.nih.gov
NINR Lois Tully lois.tully@nih.gov
ODS Cindy Davis davisci@od.nih.gov

 

Up to Top