Trans-NIH Microbiome Working Group

The Trans-NIH Microbiome Working Group (TMWG) was established in 2012 by Dr. Lita Proctor (NHGRI) to provide a forum for coordinating NIH extramural research activities related to the human microbiome. TMWG membership is open to all extramural program staff from ICs with an interest in the human microbiome. The TMWG meets monthly. It also serves as a community resource and for this purpose, this website will be routinely updated with a list of primary points of contact for extramural staff at each IC. Please contact the program staff listed on this website for further information.


Key Points of Contact

This table lists extramural program staff who have agreed to serve as the primary point of contact for their Institute for microbiome research related inquiries. They will address general questions and, if needed, will direct your inquiries to the appropriate program director in their Institute

ICO Program Staff Email
NHGRI Lita Proctor (Founding Chair) lita.proctor@nih.gov
NCI Phil Daschner (Co-chair) daschnep@mail.nih.gov
NIAID Ryan Ranallo (Co-chair) ryan.ranallo@nih.gov
NCATS P.J. Brooks pjbrooks@dicbr.niaaa.nih.gov
NCCIH Linda Duffy duffyl@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI Lis Caler lis.caler@nih.gov
NIA Francesca Macchiarini francesca.macchiarini@nih.gov
NIAAA Joe Wang wangh4@mail.nih.gov
NIAMS Ricardo R. Cibotti cibottirr@mail.nih.gov
NICHD Tonse Raju tr146h@nih.gov
NIDA Jag H. Khalsa jkhalsa@nida.nih.gov
NIDCR Dwayne Lunsford lunsfordr@nidcr.nih.gov
NIDDK Bob Karp karpr@extra.niddk.nioh.gov
NIEHS Lisa Chadwick chadwickl@niehs.nih.gov
NIGMS Darren Sledjeski sledjeskid@nigms.nih.gov
NIMH Nancy Desmond ndesmond@mail.nih.gov
NIMHD Michael Sayres sayrem@mail.nih.gov
NINR Lois Tully lois.tully@nih.gov
ODS Cindy Davis davisci@od.nih.gov

This page last reviewed on February 12, 2018