NIH Director's Poineer Award

First Annual NIH Director’s
Pioneer Award Symposium

Thursday, September 29, 2005
Masur Auditorium
Clinical Center (Building 10)
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland




8:15 a.m. Introductory Remarks – Elias Zerhouni, M.D., NIH and Jeremy Berg, Ph.D., NIGMS, NIH
8:30 a.m. Larry Abbott, Ph.D., Columbia University (Mathematical Modeling of Neural Systems)
8:50 a.m. George Q. Daley, M.D., Ph.D., Children’s Hospital Boston/Harvard Stem Cell Institute (Stem Cell Biology)
9:10 a.m. Homme W. Hellinga, Ph.D., Duke University Medical Center (Protein Design and Synthetic Biology)
9:30 a.m. Joseph (Mike) McCune, M.D., Ph.D., Gladstone Institute of Virology and Immunology/University of California, San Francisco (HIV Pathogenesis)
9:50 a.m. Break
10:20a.m. Steven L. McKnight, Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center (Biochemistry)
10:40 a.m. Chad Mirkin, Ph.D., Northwestern University (Nanotechnology and Chemistry)
11:00 a.m. Announcement of 2005 Pioneer Award Recipients – Elias Zerhouni, M.D.
11:30 a.m. Lunch
1:00 p.m. Rob Phillips, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology (Applied Physics)
1:20 p.m. Stephen R. Quake, D.Phil., Stanford University (Bioengineering and Biophysics)
1:40 p.m. Sunney Xie, Ph.D., Harvard University (Cellular Imaging and Single Molecule Approach to Biology)
2:00 p.m. Roundtable Discussion – 2004 Awardees
Nora D. Volkow, M.D., NIDA, NIH, Moderator
3:00 p.m. Reception

This page last reviewed on December 4, 2013