NIH Institute/Center Clinical Research Contacts

Projects in any area of NIH interest, including basic, clinical, translational and behavioral studies, are encouraged and will be considered responsive to this Funding Opportunity Announcement. Though technical and conceptual risks are expected in highly innovative projects, clinical research also must contend with potential risk to human subjects. Clinical researchers should not be dissuaded from submitting applications as long as rigorous assessment of participant risk/benefit ratios compellingly indicates the ratio to be in favor of the potential benefit. Many of the advances in public health have been achieved through clinical trials, which necessarily involve some risk to participating human subjects. NIH acknowledges the presence of such risk and has established a set of clinical research ethics principles that provides guidance regarding the risk/benefit ratio in clinical research. Applicants proposing clinical research should contact program staff at the appropriate NIH Institute/Center to ensure his/her application conforms to Institute/Center-specific policies for clinical research.

NIH Institute/Center Clinical Research Contact
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Steven Hirschfeld, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 496-5061
Email: hirschfs@mail.nih.gov
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Christine Colvis, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 451-3903
Email: ccolvis@mail.nih.gov
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)  
Contact by research area
 
National Eye Institute (NEI) Donald Everett, M.A.
Phone: (301) 451-2020
Email: dfe@nei.nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Gail D. Pearson, M.D., Sc.D., F.A.C.C., F.A.H.A.
Phone: (301) 435-0477
Email: pearsong@nhlbi.nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Simona Volpi, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 480-3480
Email: volpis@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Kenneth E. Santora, Ph.D.
Phone: (240) 669-2933
Email: ksantora@niaid.nih.gov
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Shahnaz Khan, M.P.H.
Phone: (301) 451-9893
Email: Shahnaz.Khan@nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Jane C. Atkinson, D.D.S.
Phone: (301) 435-7908
Email: jatkinso@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Karen Teff, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 594-8803
Email: karen.teff@nih.gov
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Sarah Dunsmore, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 594-3827
Email: dunsmores@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Nitin Gogtay, M.D.
Phone: (301) 443-6776
Email: gogtayn@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)  
Contact by research area
 
National Institute on Aging (NIA) Sergei Romashkan, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 435-3047
Email: romashks@nia.nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Steven Hirschfeld, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 496-5061
Email: hirschfs@mail.nih.gov

 

This page last reviewed on August 14, 2017