NIH Director's Poineer Award

Fifth Annual NIH Director’s
Pioneer Award Symposium

September 24–25, 2009
Masur Auditorium, Building 10, Clinical Center
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland


The Fifth Annual Pioneer Award Symposium is open to the public and no registration is required.

Send questions and requests for reasonable accommodations to or call 301-594-3555.

The symposium will be Webcast.

Agenda – Thursday, September 24, 2009

8:30 – 9:00 Introductory Remarks and Announcement of 2009 Awardees
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director
National Institutes of Health
Jeremy M. Berg, Ph.D., Director
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
9:00 – 9:45 Keynote Address: “Habits and Habitats of Inventive People”
Arthur Molella, Ph.D., Director
Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation
National Museum of American History
Smithsonian Institution
9:45 – 10:15 Break
10:15 – 11:45 Presentations by 2008 Pioneer Awardees
Teri W. Odom, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Hongkun Park, Ph.D., Harvard University
James K. Chen, Ph.D., Stanford University
Charles M. Lieber, Ph.D., Harvard University
Aravinthan D.T. Samuel, Ph.D., Harvard University
Alice Y. Ting, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Alexander van Oudenaarden, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
James Eberwine, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Ann Hochschild, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School
11:45 – 12:45 Lunch (on your own)
12:45 – 1:45 Business Meeting (awardees and NIH staff only)
1:45 – 3:00 Presentations by 2008 Pioneer Awardees
Ricardo Dolmetsch, Ph.D., Stanford University
Tom Maniatis, Ph.D., Harvard University
Joshua M. Epstein, Ph.D., Brookings Institution/Santa Fe Institute
Bruce A. Hay, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Barry London, M.D., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Saeed Tavazoie, Ph.D., Princeton University
Aviv Regev, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Broad Institute
3:00 – 3:15 Break
3:15 p.m. Pioneer Award Poster Session and Reception
5:00 p.m. Close

Agenda – Friday, September 25, 2009

8:00 – 8:30 Presentations by 2004 Pioneer Awardees—The First “Graduating Class”
Chad Mirkin, Ph.D., Northwestern University
8:30 – 9:00 Sunney Xie, Ph.D., Harvard University
9:00 – 9:30 Rob Phillips, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
9:30 – 10:00 Stephen R. Quake, D. Phil., Stanford University
10:00 – 10:15 Break
10:15 – 10:45 Larry Abbott, Ph.D., Columbia University
10:45 – 11:15 Homme W. Hellinga, Ph.D., Duke University Medical Center
11:15 – 12:00 Roundtable Discussion: “Innovation: Interplay Between Technology Development and Hypothesis-Driven Research”
12:00 – 1:00 Lunch
1:00 – 1:30 Joseph (Mike) McCune, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
1:30 – 2:00 George Q. Daley, M.D., Ph.D., Children’s Hospital Boston/Harvard Stem Cell Institute
2:00 – 2:30 Steven L. McKnight, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
2:30 – 2:45 Break
2:45 p.m. New Innovator Award Poster Session and Reception
4:45 p.m. Adjourn

This page last reviewed on January 10, 2014