We Accelerate Discovery

You are here

Printer
 

IC Clinical Research Contact/IC Specific Information

Projects in any area of NIH interest, including basic, clinical, translational and behavioral studies, are encouraged and will be considered responsive to this FOA. Though technical and conceptual risks are expected in highly innovative projects, clinical research also must contend with potential risk to human subjects. Clinical researchers should not be dissuaded from submitting applications as long as rigorous assessment of participant risk/benefit ratios compellingly indicates the ratio to be in favor of the potential benefit. Many of the advances in public health have been achieved through clinical trials, which necessarily involve some risk to participating human subjects. NIH acknowledges the presence of such risk and has established a set of clinical research ethics principles that provides guidance regarding the risk/benefit ratio in clinical research. Applicants proposing clinical research should contact Program staff at the appropriate component NIH Institute or Center (IC) to ensure that their applications conform to IC-specific policies for clinical research.

NIH IC Clinical Research Contact/Institute Specific Information

NIH Institute or Center IC Clinical Research Contact/IC Specific Information
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) NCCAM Program contacts, listed by program portfolio, may be found at: http://nccam.nih.gov/grants/contact
National Eye Institute (NEI) Donald Everette
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: deverette@nei.nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Simona Volpi, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Phone: 301-443-6453
Email: voplis@mail.nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Anupama Rao, MD
Phone: 301-435-0550
Email: anupama.rao@nih.gov
or
Kristin M. Burns, MD
Phone: 301-594-6859
Email: kristin.burns@nih.gov
National Institute on Aging (NIA) Sergie Romashkan
Phone: 301.435.3047
Email: romashks@nia.nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Tamara Lewis Johnson, M.B.A., M.P.H.
Phone: 301-451-7942
Email: lewisjohnsont@niaid.nih.gov
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Anna Nicholson
Phone: 301-451-6513
Email: nicholsona@mail.nih.gov
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Steven Hirschfeld, MD, PhD
Phone: 301-496-0044
Email: hirschfs@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Gordon B. Hughes, M.D.
Phone: 301-435-4085
Email: hughesg@nidcd.nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Jane C. Atkinson, D.D.S.
Phone: 301-435-7908
Email: jatkinso@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Karen Teff, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-594-8803
Email: karen.teff@nih.gov
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Sarah Dunsmore
Phone: 301.594.3827
Email: dunsmores@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Nitin Gogtay
Phone: 301-443-6776
Email: gogtayn@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Staff contacts and information on NINDS policies for clinical research applications are available at: http://www.ninds.nih.gov/research/clinical_research/
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Christine Colvis
Phone: 301-451-3903
Email: ccolvis@mail.nih.gov

 

Up to Top